sebderm and rosacea

Seborrheic Dermatitis, or Seb derm for short, can cause dry itchy, red and scaly skin. It can be found together with rosacea making it even harder to treat. Use this forum to get help with your SD.

sebderm and rosacea

Postby mcinnis » Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:34 pm

hi . i am a newbie to this forum.
i am new to sebderm and have been dealing with rosacea for about 4 yrs. I have acne rosacea with redness and broken caps as well. ipl has worked for me, as well as oral meds- mino and topical creams- noritate and rosasal. in the past. it has been 16months since last IPL , as i was pregnant etc. This winter my skin became really dry with these tiny whitish looking dry bits of what look like dryskin on my face or light hair that i could only see in the mirror upclose. My skin feels kinda rough too, and i am breaking out with p & p's again. i have had 2 IPL recently and I am wondering if it triggered sebderm!?! One week ago my derm said I have seb derm as well, however it was a quick diagonsis in my opinion and would not have been mentioned if I didnt point out to him that my face is dry... but anyway, he gave me Noritate mixed with Lamisil 1% , elidel and Minocyclene oral antibiotics. My face seems to be reacting well to the meds. I am nervous as I read here that alot of people have sebderm flares with IPL. My derm wants me to continue with the IPL.
Just wondering if you could give me some advice on what kind of treatments, cleansors and moisturizers you find good and what your symptoms are for sebderm? (ie: do you flush with sebderm, what are some triggers, do you moisturize and has anyone tried coconut oil, do you get paps like roscea paps etc) I am confused with sebderm as I am having a hard time figuring out what is my rosacea and what is sebderm. UGH!