Switch to full style
As we all know, rosacea is more than just a red face, but indeed trying to treat the redness or erythema associated with rosacea is quit tricky. Use this forum to get the lastest and greatest information.
Post a reply

Help with red, irritated skin...

Thu Apr 14, 2011 9:34 pm

Last night I got unexpectedly caught outdoors for about 15 min and exposed to some really harsh, cold wind. Predictably my face has red, irritated blotches of skin all over today. I don't typically suffer from flushing or blushing, but tend to get patches of raw, irritated skin when encountering sun and wind. I'm still new to rosacea and finding out what works for a flare-upe. Typically it takes about 2-3 days for my skin to calm down after such incidents, and I apply Eucerin Redness Relief cream and Cerave moisturizer and metrogel (not sure if metrogel helps with redness at all). I also have very slightly lumpy or swelling on my inner cheeks. Does anyone have tips about soothing red, patchy skin more quickly? As always, thanks everyone for the incredibly helpful forum.

Re: Help with red, irritated skin...

Fri Apr 15, 2011 1:20 pm

hi
I've posted this elsewhere but I have used oatmeal(soak oatmeal and use the "milk") to combat red itrritated skin with some success.
Best wishes
Fanny

Fri Apr 15, 2011 7:06 pm

Thanks, Fanny. I bought some Aveeno colloidal oatmeal, which I'll use later tonight. I think the main problem with my skin right now is that the moisture barrier is so compromised. I've been using Aczone and Metrogel for about 6 weeks now, and they've done a good job of combating the p & p's, but my skin is so dry and flaky now after cleansing that I have to really lay on the moisturizer. It's hard to find a good one that works, but doesn't leave a greasy feel. I suppose that's a common complaint among rosaceans...

Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:48 am