Permanent Redness

As we all know, rosacea is more than just a red face, but indeed trying to treat the redness or erythema associated with rosacea is quit tricky. Use this forum to get the lastest and greatest information.

Permanent Redness

Postby kimichu » Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:34 am

Hello! I'm just 18 years young, and I've been battling permanent facial redness for nearly 6 years. It took dermatologists 5 years to diagnose me with Rosacea. The redness is only on my nose and cheeks, but it takes such a toll on my self-esteem! I just hate being red 24/7! I don't really mind the rosy cheeks, but my red nose is just awful! I feel like I have to put a mask on everytime I walk out the door, so I cover my face in makeup. And makeup always comes off if something brushes up against my face, or if it's been on for a long period of time.

I don't know what to do. I feel so alone and hopeless at this point. I'm just about to finish up my last prescription of Accutane, and my dermatologist wants to put me on some topical creams. However, I'm hesitant about the creams because I'm afraid it might make my redness spread or something. I recently had a laser treatment for the redness, but it was $700, and the derm said that I'd have to have 4 more treaments in a row, plus get touch-ups every 3 to 6 monthes to maintain the results. I just can't afford to do that!

Has anyone had permanent facial redness, used a topical cream, and found success? And if my redness subsides from a topical cream, will it just come back if I stop using it?
kimichu
I'm new here
I'm new here

Re: Permanent Redness

Postby Lisamouries » Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:51 am

Welcome Kimichu.
Permanent redness is a real bummer... I have that too. I think you should give topicals a go though. It's a process of elimination and it might be that you have to combine several treatments to get where you want to be.